Skip to main content
The official website of the State of Mississippi
Tapestry of Voters

The Mississippi Legislature

 The Standing Joint Congressional Redistricting Committee

 The Standing Joint Legislative Committee on Reapportionment & Redistricting


Redistricting is the process by which the Legislature redraws the boundaries of congressional and legislative districts. This process follows the publication of decennial census information that should be available later in the year 2021. Redistricting is required by state and federal law, and must produce congressional districts that are equal in population. Legislative districts must have populations that are roughly equivalent in population. Because there are always population shifts within a state between censuses, some changes in district boundaries are always necessary after a census is taken. Mississippi currently maintains 122 House Districts, 52 Senate Districts, and 4 Congressional Districts.